Rosendal Chamber Music Festival 2024

Julia Hagen


Cellist Julia Hagen was born in Salzburg in 1995 and, among others, studied with the legendary Heinrich Schiff.

Since her public debut at age 14 she has played extensively throughout Europe and Japan, including in venues like the Wiener Konzerthaus (where she was a Great Talent in the 2019/20 and 2020/21 seasons), Wiener Musikverein, Tonhalle Zürich, Barbican Hall and Suntory Hall. She has performed with orchestras like the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino and Kremerata Baltica, and with conductors like Ivor Bolton, Sir Andrew Davis, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, Ingo Metzmacher, Markus Poschner and Giedrė Šlekytė.

.button{border:none color: white; padding: 16px 40px; text-align: center; text-decoration: none; display: inline-block; font-size: 16px; margin: 4px 2px; transition-duration: 0.4s; cursor: pointer}.button1{background-color: black; color: white; border: 2px solid black}.button1:hover{background-color: green; color: white

As a chamber musician, Julia Hagen performs regularly with Igor Levit, Alexander Lonquich, Annika Treutler, Renaud Capuçon, Johan Dalene, Gérard Caussé, Clemens Hagen, Gautier Capuçon and the Arod and Hagen quartets.

In season 2022/23, she continues her close artistic partnership with the Bruckner Orchestra with concerts in Linz and Montreux. Other highlights include concerts with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla (Shostakovich Cello Concerto No. 2), Vancouver Symphony Orchestra under Joshua Weilerstein (Haydn Cello Concerto in C major) and Orchestra della Svizzera italiana under Krzysztof Urbański (Dvorak Cello Concerto).


Read More

Festival Performances Year 2024

Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor, Op. 38
Julia Hagen (cello), Roland Pöntinen (piano)

Johannes Brahms: Piano Trio No. 2 in C Major, Op. 87
James Ehnes (violin), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)

György Ligeti: Musica Ricercata
Bertrand Chamayou (piano)

Franz Schubert: Allegro in A minor, D. 947 “Lebensstürme”
Bertrand Chamayou (piano), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Johannes Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op. 114
Sharon Kam (clarinet), Julia Hagen (cello), Bertrand Chamayou (piano)

Sofia Gubaidulina: Selection from Ten Preludes for Solo Cello
Julia Hagen (cello)

Johannes Brahms: 7 Fantasien, Op.116
Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)


Johannes Brahms: Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op. 115
Sharon Kam (clarinet), Dover Quartet (string quartet)

Bjarne Brustad: Capricci for Violin and Viola (1931)
- III. Allegretto
- IV. Vivace
Guro Kleven Hagen (fiolin), Ida Bryhn (viola)

Edmund Finnis: Five Preludes for Solo Cello (2022)
Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello)

Johannes Brahms: Clarinet Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 120 No. 2
Sharon Kam (clarinet), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)

Johannes Brahms: String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111
James Ehnes (violin), Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Tabea Zimmermann (viola), Ida Bryhn (viola), Julia Hagen (cello)

György Ligeti: Artikulation (1958)
Electronic piece - visuals on screen by artist Rainer Wehinger

György Ligeti: Etude No. 2 Cordes à vide
Franz Liszt: Bagatelle sans tonalité (1885)
György Ligeti: Etude No. 4 Fanfares
Franz Liszt: Nuages gris (1881)
György Ligeti: Etude No. 5 Arc-en-ciel
György Ligeti: Etude No. 6 Automne à Varsovie
Roland Pöntinen (piano)

Clara Schumann: Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 17
Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Julia Hagen (cello), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)


Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor, Op. 60
Bertrand Chamayou (piano), Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Tabea Zimmermann (viola), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello)