Rosendal Chamber Music Festival 2024

Nikita Khnykin


Recipient of the Robert Levin Prize in 2022, Nikita Khnykin, is a young Norwegian pianist who is firmly gaining recognition. He was nominated for both the Norwegian Soloist Prize and Equinor Music Award in 2023, and has performed as a soloist with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra in 2019, and with the Norwegian Radio Orchestra in 2018 and 2020, in live-streamed and televised performances. In the autumn of 2023 he made his first appereance with the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra.

Nikita was born in 2003 in Oslo to Russian parents, and currently studies with Julia Mustonen at Ingesund College of Music in Sweden. Previously, he was also part of Prof. Jiri Hlinka Piano Academy in Bergen.

Among notable accomplishments are multiple first prizes in the Norwegian National Music Competition in different age categories, and in 2020 he won all possible prizes within the competition, including the Audience Prize, the EMCY Prize for Exceptional Performance, and being named “Talent of the Year”.

Ever since Nikita began his musical training at the Barratt-Due Music Institute, playing chamber music with prominentmusicians and friends has been an important part of Nikita’s musicianship. This has resulted in performances, among others, at the Oslo Chamber Music Festival and Bergen International Festival both in 2016, and in 2023 the Lofoten Chamber Music Festival.

Nikita’s musical interests also include conducting, and in 2020 he was featured as a mentor in the program “Maestro” on Norwegian television. He has also composed several works, and his piece “Poeme” for symphonic orchestra was played by the Oslo Philharmonic in 2021, conducted by Christian Eggen.

Read More

Festival Performances Year 2024

Zoltán Kodály: Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7
Florian Donderer (violin), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello)

Erzsébet Szőnyi: Five Preludes
Nikita Khnykin (piano)

Franz Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody no. 12 in C-sharp minor, S.244/12
Nikita Khnykin (piano)

György Ligeti: String Quartet No. 1 "Métamorphoses nocturnes"
Quatuor Agate

György Ligeti: Continuum
Masato Suzuki (harpsichord)

György Ligeti: Hungarian Rock
Masato Suzuki (harpsichord)

Ruth Wilhelmine Meyer: Solo for Voice
Ruth Wilhelmine Meyer (voice)

Edvard Grieg/Ruth Wilhelmine Meyer: In The Hall of the Mountain King
Ruth Wilhelmine Meyer (voice), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Ernő Dohnányi: Sextet in C major, Op. 37
Florian Donderer (violin), Antoine Tamestit (viola), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Nikita Khnykin (piano), Wenzel Fuchs (clarinet), Ragnhild Lothe (horn)