Rosendal Chamber Music Festival 2023

Festival Program


11 August

10.15 Pre-concert lecture in Kvinnherad Church

  • Pre-concert lecture (in Norwegian)
    Erling Guldbrandsen

11.00-12.00 2. Concert in Kvinnherad Church

  • Johannes Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 1 in E minor, Op. 38
    Julia Hagen (cello), Roland Pöntinen (piano)

  • Johannes Brahms: Piano Trio No. 2 in C Major, Op. 87
    James Ehnes (violin), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)

12.00-14.00 Open House at The Manor

  • Open house at the Manor
    Music by students at Kvinnherad Kulturskule in the rooms and halls of Rosendal Manor House

14.00-15.15 3. Concert in The Great Hall

  • György Ligeti: Musica Ricercata
    Bertrand Chamayou (piano)

  • Franz Schubert: Allegro in A minor, D. 947 “Lebensstürme”
    Bertrand Chamayou (piano), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

  • Johannes Brahms: Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op. 114
    Sharon Kam (clarinet), Julia Hagen (cello), Bertrand Chamayou (piano)

17.30-19.05 4. Concert in The Great Hall

  • Toru Takemitsu: Paths
    Håkan Hardenberger (trumpet)

  • Johannes Brahms arr. Eusebius Mandyezewski: "Herzlich tut mich verlangen" from 11 Choral Preludes for Organ, Op. 122
    Yeol-Eum Son (piano), Roland Pöntinen (piano)

  • Paul Hindemith: Sonata for Trumpet and Piano (1939)
    Håkan Hardenberger (trumpet), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

  • Interval

  • Johannes Brahms: String Sextet No. 1 in B-flat major, Op. 18
    Dover Quartet (string quartet), Tabea Zimmermann (viola), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello)

21.30-23.05 5. Concert in Kvinnherad Church

  • Sofia Gubaidulina: Selection from Ten Preludes for Solo Cello
    Julia Hagen (cello)

  • Johannes Brahms: 7 Fantasien, Op.116
    Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

  • Interval

  • Johannes Brahms: Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op. 115
    Sharon Kam (clarinet), Dover Quartet (string quartet)


12 August

10.00-11.00 Lecture at the Community Center

  • Lecture (in Norwegian)
    Gunnar Danbolt

11.30-13.00 6. Concert in The Great Hall

  • Florent Schmitt: Suite for Trumpet and Piano, Op.133
    Håkan Hardenberger (trumpet), Roland Pöntinen (piano)

  • Johannes Brahms: String Quartet in A minor, Op. 51 No. 2
    Dover Quartet (string quartet)

  • György Ligeti: Trio for Violin, Horn and Piano (1982)
    David Guerrier (horn), Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Bertrand Chamayou (piano)

14.30-16.00 7. Concert in Kvinnherad Church

  • Johannes Brahms: Clarinet Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 120 No. 2
    Sharon Kam (clarinet), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)

  • Betsy Jolas: Quatuor VII (Afterthoughts) (2018)
    Håkan Hardenberger (trumpet), Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Ida Bryhn (viola), Julia Hagen (cello)

  • Johannes Brahms: String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111
    James Ehnes (violin), Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Tabea Zimmermann (viola), Ida Bryhn (viola), Julia Hagen (cello)

18.30 Pre-concert lecture in The Great Hall

  • Pre-concert lecture (in English)
    Erling Guldbrandsen

19.15-21.15 8. Concert in The Great Hall

  • György Ligeti: Artikulation (1958)
    Electronic piece - visuals on screen by artist Rainer Wehinger

  • György Ligeti: Etude No. 2 Cordes à vide
    Franz Liszt: Bagatelle sans tonalité (1885)
    György Ligeti: Etude No. 4 Fanfares
    Franz Liszt: Nuages gris (1881)
    György Ligeti: Etude No. 5 Arc-en-ciel
    György Ligeti: Etude No. 6 Automne à Varsovie
    Roland Pöntinen (piano)

  • Clara Schumann: Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 17
    Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Julia Hagen (cello), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)

  • Interval

  • Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor, Op. 60
    Bertrand Chamayou (piano), Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Tabea Zimmermann (viola), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello)

22.00-23.10 9. Concert in The Great Hall

  • ZRI “Zum Roten Igel” 

  • Tigeneascau – Hungarian traditional melody

  • Brahms clarinet quintet – allegro
    Kolomeyke – Carpathian traditional melody
    Brahms allegro continued
    Hora mit tsibiles (Hora with Onions) – Klezmer melody
    Brahms allegro continued

  • Sarba Maracini – Ukrainian trad.

  • Brahms clarinet quintet – adagio
    Der Gasn Nign (The Street Tune) – Klezmer melody
    Brahms adagio continued

  • Brahms clarinet quintet – andantino
    Dance from Korond (Romanian trad.)
    Der Goldene Khasene (The Golden Wedding) – Klezmer melody
    Brahms andantino continued

  • Doina (Carpathian wedding improvisation)
    Brahms Hungarian Dance no. 1
    Nikolaev Bulgar – Moldavian trad.

  • Brahms clarinet quintet – finale