Rosendal Chamber Music Festival 2024

Wenzel Fuchs


Wenzel Fuchs was born in Innsbruck, Austria, where he began his study of the clarinet with Professor Walter Kefer at the local conservatory. He continued his studies with Professor Peter Schmidl at Vienna University of Music and the Performing Arts, taking his degree with high honours. He also won awards from the Austrian Ministry of Science and Art and the Jugend Musiziert competitions.

During his studies, he deputized regularly in all Viennese orchestras, including the Vienna State Opera Orchestra and the Vienna Philharmonic. At the age of 19 he became the solo clarinettist in the orchestra of the Vienna Volksoper, followed five years later by a similar appointment in the Vienna RSO. Since 1993 he has been the solo clarinettist of the Berlin Philharmonic; he also teaches at the orchestra’s Karajan Academy.

He has held a professorship at the Hanns Eisler University of Music (2008-13) and has been a visiting professor at Geidai University in Tokyo. In 2015 he became a professor at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg. Besides his many masterclasses in Japan, Europe and the United States, he appears throughout the world as a soloist with such orchestras as the Tokyo Philharmonic, the China National SO, the Korean SO, the Berlin Symphony, and the Berlin Philharmonic. His chamber music partners include Yefim Bronfman, Emmanuel Pahud, Andras Schiff, Albrecht Mayer, Mitsuko Uchida, and David Geringas. His is a member of the the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Soloists, the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Ensemble, the Berlin Philharmonic Octet and the Kammerorchester Wien-Berlin.

Read More

Festival Performances Year 2024

Welcome with honour (folk tune)
Norwegian Soloists' Choir, Grete Pedersen (conductor)

Béla Bartók: Contrasts

György Kurtág: Ligatura—Message to Frances‐Marie (the Answered Unanswered Question), Op. 31b
Adrien Jurkovic, Thomas Descamps (violins), Victor Julien-Laferrière, Simon Iachemet (cellos), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Robert Schumann: Fantasiestücke, Op. 73
Wenzel Fuchs (clarinet), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

György Kurtág: Selections from Játékok and Jelek, játékok és üzenetek
Leif Ove Andsnes (piano), Antoine Tamestit (viola)

György Kurtág: Omaggio a Luigi Nono, Op. 16
Norwegian Soloists' Choir, Grete Pedersen (conductor)

Robert Schumann: Gute Nacht, Op. 59 No.
Norwegian Soloists' Choir, Grete Pedersen (conductor)


Robert Schumann: Piano Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 47
Zlata Chochieva (piano), Vilde Frang (violin), Antoine Tamestit (viola), Victor Julien-Laferrière (cello)

György Kurtág: Hommage à R. Sch., Op. 15d
Wenzel Fuchs (clarinet), Antoine Tamestit (viola), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Franz Schubert: Gesang der Geister über den Wassern, D.714
Norwegian Soloists' Choir (male voices), Grete Pedersen (conductor), Antoine Tamestit, Raphaël Pagnon (violas), Victor Julien-Laferrière, Simon Iachemet (cellos), Christian Henriksen (double bass)

Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 6 in D minor, Sz. 114
Quatuor Agate


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Clarinet Quintet, K. 581
Wenzel Fuchs (clarinet), Quatuor Agate

György Ligeti: Continuum
Masato Suzuki (harpsichord)

György Ligeti: Hungarian Rock
Masato Suzuki (harpsichord)

Ruth Wilhelmine Meyer: Solo for Voice
Ruth Wilhelmine Meyer (voice)

Edvard Grieg/Ruth Wilhelmine Meyer: In The Hall of the Mountain King
Ruth Wilhelmine Meyer (voice), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Ernő Dohnányi: Sextet in C major, Op. 37
Florian Donderer (violin), Antoine Tamestit (viola), Victor Julien-Laferrière (cello), Nikita Khnykin (piano), Wenzel Fuchs (clarinet), Ragnhild Lothe (horn)