Rosendal Chamber Music Festival 2024

Björn Nyman


The Finnish clarinetist Björn Nyman is one of the leading clarinetists of his generation in the Nordic region, and a soughtafter chamber musician and soloist. He is principal clarinetist with the Norwegian Radio Orchestra as well as with the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra.

Nyman was a prizewinner in two of the most prestigious international clarinet competitions: the ARD Competition in Munich in 2003 and the Carl Nielsen competition in Odense in 2005. In both competitions he was also awarded the prize for best interpretation of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto. In addition, he was awarded the prize for best performance of the comissioned piece in the ARD. Nyman won shared first prize at the Crusell Clarinet Competition in 2002 as well as the ConocoPhillipps Prize the same year.

Björn Nyman has been a soloist with several orchestras including the Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Bayerischer Rundfunk, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra and Stavanger Symphony Orchestra.
Nyman is a dedicated chamber musician and has played at many of the leading festivals in Scandinavia.

At the age of 19, he was appointed his first position as principal clarinetist with the Lapland Chamber Orchestra. He has also been principal clarinetist in the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra under conductors such as Pierre Boulez and Claudio Abbado.

He has studied with Hans Christian Bræin and Leif Arne Pedersen at the Norwegian Academy of Music as well as with Yehuda Gilad of the University of Southern California in Los Angeles.

Nyman’s recent solo cd on the LAWO label includes recording of Jan Erik Mikalsen clarinet concerto which was dedicated to him.

Nyman is today teaching at the Norwegian Academy of Music and is regularly giving masterclasses internationally.

Read More

Festival Performances Year 2024

Ketil Hvoslef: Beethoven Phantasy (1982)
Sveinung Bjelland (piano)

Beethoven: Sonata for piano and cello No. 4 in C major, Op. 102, No. 1
Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Ketil Hvoslef: Beethoven Trio (1997)
Björn Nyman (clarinet), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Sveinung Bjelland (piano)

Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 30 in E major, Op. 109
Sveinung Bjelland (piano)

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 6 in B-flat major, Op. 18, No. 6
Quatuor van Kuijk

Beethoven: Septet in E-flat major, Op. 20
Antje Weithaas (violin), Henninge Landaas (viola), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Callum Hay Jennings (double bass), Björn Nyman (clarinet), Sebastian Stevensson (bassoon), Ragnhild Lothe (horn)