Rosendal Chamber Music Festival 2024

Henninge Landaas


Henninge Landaas was just three years old when she started playing the violin at the Council Music School in Trondheim. She continued her musical training at the Trøndelag Music Conservatory and the Norwegian Academy of Music where she was tutored by Bjarne Fiskum and Magnus Eriksson. She graduated with distinction in 1996 with violin and viola as her main instruments.

Henninge Landaas was a member of the Trondheim Soloists from their beginning in 1987, performing as both solo violist and violinist on several occasions. She has also had solo performances with, among others, the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra. In addition, she was solo viola player for many years with the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra.

From 1996-2000 she was solo violist with the Oslo Philharmonic, and from 2009-2019 she re-joined them as alternating solo violist.

From 1994 to 2011 Henninge Landaas was a member of the Vertavo String Quartet. She has toured the world over with the Quartet and made several recordings, among them Brahms, Bartok, Nielsen, Schumann, Grieg, and Debussy.

She has made several recordings for Lawo Classics, including Brahm’s sonatas with Tim Horton, Hindemith sonata for solo Op. 25, and a number of CDs with Oslo Philharmonic Chamber Group.

In 2014, together with Sølve Sigerland and Ellen Flesjø, she established Ssens Trio. They have released several CDs for Lawo Classics with works by Beethoven and Mozart. Their first CD, Beethoven Op. 3, and Op. 8 was given the “Supersonic Award” by Pizzicato Magazine and nominated for the prestigious ICMA Award in 2018.

Henninge Landaas plays on a J.B. Guadagnini viola, on loan from Musica Dextra.

Read More

Festival Performances Year 2024

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 6 in B-flat major, Op. 18, No. 6
Quatuor van Kuijk

Beethoven: Septet in E-flat major, Op. 20
Antje Weithaas (violin), Henninge Landaas (viola), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Callum Hay Jennings (double bass), Björn Nyman (clarinet), Sebastian Stevensson (bassoon), Ragnhild Lothe (horn)