Rosendal Chamber Music Festival 2024

Amalie Stalheim, cello

Amalie Stalheim


Amalie Stalheim is one of the most promising young cellists in Scandinavia today. Recently she won the 1st price in the Royal Swedish Academy of Musics competition “Soloist Prize 2018”. (Jury statement: “Her technical brilliance goes hand in hand with responsiveness and personal expression, and we hope she will glorify the world’s concert hall for many years to come and inspire new generations of young musicians”)

Previously Amalie has won first price in Ljunggren Competition and YAMAHA Music Foundation Europe Competition. At the Verbier Festival Academy, she was awarded with the prestigious Firmenich Prize. The last two years Amalie was nominated for the Statoil Scholarship, as one of five young, Norwegian musicians.

Upcoming highlights in season 2018/19 include performances with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in Stockholm, Swedish Radio Orchestra, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, The Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Norrland Opera Orchestra, Wermland Opera Orchestra. Musica Vitae, Norrbotten Chamber Orchestra, Malmö Symphony Orchestra.

She is Artist in Residence at the Swedish Radio’s classical music channel during 2018/2019.

Amalie is also active as a chamber musician, and she is regularly invited to international festivals such as Festspillene in Bergen, Hindsgavl Festival, Copenhagen Summer Festival, Vinterfestspillene in Røros.

Amalie is currently studying Soloist Diploma at the Norwegian Academy of Music.

Amalie plays on a cello built by F. Ruggieri in 1687, generously lent to her by Anders Sveaas Almennyttige Fond.

Read More

Festival Performances Year 2024

Igor Stravinsky: Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet (1919)
Anthony Mc Gill (clarinet)

Alexander Vustin: Dedication for Cello, Marimba and Piano (2013)
Amalie Stalheim (cello), PERCelleh (percussion), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Igor Stravinsky: Concerto for Two Solo Pianos (1930-1935)
Leif Ove Andsnes (piano), Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: Allegro from Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93, arranged for Piano Duet (1953)
Leif Ove Andsnes (piano), Marc-André Hamelin (piano)


Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: Symphony No. 15 in A Major, Op. 141 (1971)
Arranged for Piano Trio and Percussion by Viktor Dervianko. PERCelleh (percussion), Christian Krogvold Lundqvist (percussion), Sonoko Miriam Welde (violin), Clemens Hagen (cello), Marianna Shirinyan (piano)