Rosendal Kammermusikkfestival 2024

Lene Grenager


Lene Grenager (b. 1969) is a Norwegian cellist and composer. As a composer, she has written for ensembles such as Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Cikada, Bit 20, Trondheim Sinfonietta, Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, Alpaca, Ensemble Zwischentöne and Duo Ego. She’s had portrait concerts at Ultima and Borealis festivals and her music has been performed at among others Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, Novembermusikk, Sound of Stockholm, Ilios and Kalvfestivalen.

As a cellist she is specialized in improvised music and works mainly in the two quartets SPUNK and Lemur. With these ensembles Lene has played concerts all over Europe and in USA, and at festivals such as Donaueschinger Musiktage, Huddersfield CMF, Tectonics, Novelum, Moldejazz and Kongsberg Jazz festival. In addition, she has held solo concerts and collaborated with Joelle Leandre, Sten Sandell, Ellen Fullman, Albatrosh, Trondheim jazzorkester and Phantom Orchard Orchestra.

Grenager is interested in notation and how different ways of notation influences the musician and the sounding result. She collaborates with musicians from different traditions and this results in scores ranging from precise notation to graphic notation. Electronics and samples are an integrated part of several of her works.
She has worked as producer, musician and composer on a number of recordings. «Systema Naturae» – was nominated for a Norwegian Grammy Award in two categories in 2013 and «Khipukamayuq» was nominated in 2017.She was awarded the Lindeman Price for young artists in 2002. In 2018 she was awarded Arne Nordheim Composers prize from the Norwegian Department of Culture.

Les meir

Festival forestillinger i 2024

Edvard Grieg: Norsk fra Lyriske stykker, op. 12 nr. 6
Per Arne Glorvigen (bandoneon)

Lene Grenager: Huldreslått (2005)
Lene Grenager (cello)

Johan Svendsen: Allegro scherzeroso fra Strykeoktett i A-dur, op. 3
KonstKnekt: Joakim Røbergshagen, Phelan Walker, Dorian Xhoxhi, Johanne Haugland (fioliner), Frida S Oliver, Michael Grolid (bratsjer), Øyvind Gimse, Hans Emil Sollesnes (celloer)

Lene Grenager: Systema Naturae (2007)
Daniela Braun (fiolin), Hans Emil sollesnes (cello), Joachim Carr (piano)

Edvard Grieg: Fiolinsonate nr. 2 i G-dur, op. 13
Johan Dalene (fiolin), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Lene Grenager: Mixed-Handedness (utdrag) (2016)
Lene Grenager (cello)

Edvard Grieg: Skogsstillhet, fra Lyriske stykker, op. 71 nr. 4
Joachim Carr (piano)

Antonín Dvořák: Skogsstillhet, op. 68 nr. 5
Sandra Lied Haga (cello), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Per Arne Glorvigen: «Corazones en el viento» - "Hjarter i vinden" (urframføring)
Per Arne Glorvigen (bandoneon), Daniela Braun (fiolin), Arnulf Ballhorn (kontrabass), Joachim Carr (piano)

Antonín Dvořák: Strykekvintett nr. 2, op. 77
Josef Špaček, Joakim Røbergshagen (fioliner), Michael Grolid (bratsj), Hans Emil Sollesnes (cello), Arnulf Ballhorn (kontrabass)