Rosendal Kammermusikkfestival 2024

Sonoko Welde


Sonoko Miriam Welde is one of the most exciting young violinists to emerge from Norway in recent years. Born in Bergen in 1996 she made her debut with the Bergen Philharmonic aged nine and has since gone on to win the Norwegian Soloist Prize and Virtuos competition, as well as representing Norway in the European Broadcasting Union’s Young Musicians Competition. She is currently on the Crescendo programme, being mentored by Janine Jansen, and a recipient of a Statoil Talent Scholarship.

Her appearances include concertos with Oslo Philharmonic, Bergen Philharmonic, Norwegian Radio Orchestra, WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Combattimento Consort Amsterdam, Kremerata Baltica, Zagreb Soloists, Oslo Camerata, and the Estonian Chamber Orchestra with conductors including Andrew Litton, Johannes Gustavsson, Peter Szilvay and Edward Gardner.

An enthusiastic chamber musician, Sonoko has been championed by Leif Ove Andsnes, with whom she performs regularly, and has also worked with Tabea Zimmermann, Clemens Hagen, Sergio Tiempo, Enrico Pace and Itamar Golan. She appears frequently at the Bergen International Festival and has given recitals at Grachtenfestival Amsterdam, Risør Chamber Music Festival, ArtLink Belgrade, Oslo Chamber Music Festival, Bad Ragaz “Next Generation” Festival, Harpa Festival Reykjavik and Norsjø Chamber Music Festival.

Sonoko opens the 18/19 Season with her debut at the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, and later with the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne and Oslo Philharmonic under Joshua Weilerstein, as well as the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra.

Sonoko studies with Stephan Barratt-Due in Oslo and Kolja Blacher at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin and has benefitted from regular lessons with Vilde Frang and Henning Kraggerud.

She plays a 1714 Alessandro Gagliano kindly on loan from Dextra Musica.

Les meir

Festival forestillinger i 2024

Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: Prelude & Scherzo: To stykker for strykeoktett, op. 11 (1925)
Veriko Tchumburidze (fiolin), Sonoko Miriam Welde (fiolin), Tabea Zimmermann (bratsj), Clemens Hagen (cello), Quatour Danel.

Edison Denisov: Sonate for solo klarinett (1972)
Anthony Mc Gill (klarinett)

Modest Musorgskij: Sanger og danser om døden (1875 - 1877)
Andrei Bondarenko (baryton), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano).


Alexander Vustin: Zaitevs brev (1990)
Christophe Poncet de Solages, tenor, Ensemble Allegria, PERCelleh (perkusjon). Christian Eggen, dirigent.

Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: Kammersymfoni (arr av strykekvartett nr. 8), op. 110a (1967)
Ensemble Allegria

Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: To stykker for strykekvartett - Elegy og Polka (1931)
Quatour Danel

Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: Fem stykker for to fioliner og piano (1955)
Veriko Tchumburidze (fiolin), Sonoko Miriam Welde (fiolin), Sasha Grynyuk (piano).

Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: « Den opprinnelige» Jazz Suite Nr. 2 (1938)
Arrangert for pianoduett av Gerard McBurney. Sasha Grynyuk (piano), Marianna Shirinyan (piano).

Sergej Prokofjev: Romeo and Juliet (utdrag), Op. 64 (1938)
Arrangert for bratsj og piano av Vadim Borisovsky. Marianna Shirinyan (piano), Tabea Zimmermann (bratsj).


Alexander Vustin: Tre Toropets Sanger for piano solo (1972)

Dmitri Shostakovich: Sonate for cello og piano i d-moll, Op. 40 (1934)
Clemens Hagen (cello), Marc-André Hamelin (piano).

Samuil Feinberg: Sonate for piano nr. 4 i ess-moll, op. 6 (1918)
Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

Alexander Scriabin: Sonate for piano nr. 7, op. 64 (1911)
Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

Alexander Vustin: In memoriam Grigori Fried (2014)
Tabea Zimmermann (bratsj), Marianna Shirinyan (piano)


Alexander Vustin: Offering (2005)
Marianna Shirinyan (piano), Ensemble Allegria, PerCelleh (perkusjon)

Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: Pianokvintett i g-moll, op. 57 (1940)
Veriko Tchumburidze (fiolin), Sonoko Miriam Welde (fiolin), Tabea Zimmermann (bratsj), Clemens Hagen (cello), Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

Igor Stravinsky: Tre stykker for solo klarinett (1919)
Anthony Mc Gill (klarinett)

Alexander Vustin: Dedication for cello, marimba og piano (2013)
Amalie Stalheim (cello), PERCelleh (perkusjon), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Igor Stravinsky: Concerto for Two Solo Pianos (1930-1935)
Leif Ove Andsnes (piano), Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: Allegro fra Symfoni nr. 10 i e-moll, op. 93, arrangert for piano duo (1953)
Leif Ove Andsnes (piano), Marc-André Hamelin (piano)


Dmitri Sjostakovitsj: Symfoni No. 15 in A Major, 0p. 141 (1971)
Arrangert for pianotrio og perkusjon av Viktor Dervianko. PERCelleh (perkusjon), Christian Krogvold Lundqvist (perkusjon), Sonoko Miriam Welde (fiolin), Clemens Hagen (cello), Marianna Shirinyan (piano)