Rosendal Kammermusikkfestival 2024

Tanja Tetzlaff


Die versierte Kammermusikerin Tanja Tetzlaff als selbstsichere Solistin zu erleben, ist ein Genuss (…). Ihr Spiel berührt und entführt in eine bessere Welt.“ Mannheimer Morgen/Eckhard Britsch

Cellist Tanja Tetzlaff has been one of the most influential musicians of her generation for decades, both as a soloist and as well as a chamber musician. Her playing is characterised by a uniquely fine, at the same time powerful and nuanced sound, which is always accompanied by cultivated musicality. Tanja Tetzlaff’s special trademark is her extraordinarily broad repertoire and her desire for cross-border concert formats. Going beyond the presentation of classical music, incorporating other art forms, and engaging with contemporary events is a particular concern of Tanja Tetzlaff. She plays all the standard works of the cello literature but is also a sought- after interpreter of 20th and 21st century compositions. She is particularly fond of the cello concertos by Unsuk Chin, John Casken, Witold Lutosławski, Jörg Widmann and Bernd Alois Zimmermann. In January 2021, shepremiered the Double Concerto for Cello & Percussion by Rolf Wallin with the Gävle Symphony Orchestra, followed by the world premiere of the Double Concerto for Cello & Percussion by Olga Neuwirth in September 2022.

In April 2021, Tanja Tetzlaff became the first scholarship recipient to be awarded the highly endowed Glenn Gould Bach Fellowship of the city of Weimar. Over a period of two years, she now has the opportunity to realise a film project that relates Bach’s famous cello suites to nature and to issues of climate change.

Highlights of the 2021/2022 season are concerts with the Hamburger Symphonikern, NDR Radiophilharmonie, Heidelberger Philharmonikern and Bremer Philharmonikern. In the field of chamber music, she will be joined by her brother Christian Tetzlaff, pianist Lars Vogt, her husband Florian Donderer, clarinettist Kilian Herold, violinist Franziska Hölscher and saxophonist Asya Fateyeva. As part of the Tetzlaff Quartett will perfrat the Philharmonie Köln, the Konzert Theater Bern, the Thüringer Bachwochen, the Heidelberger Frühling, the Albert Konzerte Freiburg in Paris, Merano, Bolzano, and at the Konzerthaus Blaibach.

In the course of her career, Tanja Tetzlaff has performed with the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Philharmonia Orchestra in London and Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra and NHK Symphony Orchestra. She has worked with renowned conductors including Alan Gilbert, Daniel Harding, Philippe Herreweghe, Heinz Holliger, Paavo Järvi, Sir Roger Norrington and Robin Ticciati. In addition, Tanja Tetzlaff is a founding member of the Tetzlaff Quartett and has performed worldwide with Christian Tetzlaff, Elisabeth Kufferath and Hanna Weinmeister since 1994. With Lars Vogt and Christian Tetzlaff she also forms a permanent piano trio. Recordings have been published by CAvi, Ars, NEOS, and Ondine, including concertos by Wolfgang Rihm and Ernst Toch. A solo CD of Bach suites and works by Thorsten Encke was released in October 2019. Spring 2020 saw the release of the Beethoven Quartets with the Tetzlaff Quartett and the Piano Quintet by Suk.

Tanja Tetzlaff studied at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg under Professor Bernhard Gmelin and at the Mozarteum Salzburg under Professor Heinrich Schiff. She plays a cello by Giovanni Baptista Guadagnini from 1776. Tanja Tetzlaff is committed to worldwide climate protection projects and works together with the environmental agency Arktik.

Les meir

Festival forestillinger i 2024

Ketil Hvoslef: Beethoven-fantasi (1982)
Sveinung Bjelland (piano)

Beethoven: Sonate for piano og cello nr. 4 i C-dur, op. 102, nr. 1
Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Ketil Hvoslef: Beethoven Trio (1997)
Björn Nyman (klarinett), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Sveinung Bjelland (piano)

Beethoven: Pianosonate nr. 30 i E-dur, op. 109
Sveinung Bjelland (piano)

Beethoven: Strykekvartett nr. 11 i F-moll, op. 95
Quatuor van Kuijk

Beethoven: Sonate for piano og fiolin nr. 10 i G-dur, op. 96
Alina Ibragimova (fiolin), Kristian Bezuidenhout (fortepiano)


Beethoven: Pianotrio i B-dur, op. 97 "Archduke"
Antje Weithaas (fiolin), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Víkingur Ólafsson (piano)

Beethoven: Strykekvartett nr. 6 i B-dur, op. 18, nr. 6
Quatuor van Kuijk

Beethoven: Septett i Ess-dur, op. 20
Antje Weithaas (fiolin), Henninge Landaas (bratsj), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Callum Hay Jennings (kontrabass), Björn Nyman (klarinett), Sebastian Stevensson (fagott), Ragnhild Lothe (horn)

Beethoven: Fantasia for piano, op.77
Enrico Pace (piano)

Beethoven: 7 variasjoner over 'Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen', WoO 46
Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Sveinung Bjelland (piano)

Marius Neset: Spring Dance
Ingrid Søfteland Neset (fløyte), Marius Neset (saksofon)

Marius Neset: A Day in the Sparrow's Life
Ingrid Søfteland Neset (fløyte), Marius Neset (saksofon), Sveinung Bjelland (piano)

Beethoven: Bagatelle i Ass-dur, op. 33, nr. 7
Leif Ove Andsnes (fortepiano)

Beethoven: Bagatelle nr. 25 i A-moll, WoO 59 "Für Elise"
Leif Ove Andsnes (fortepiano)

Ketil Hvoslef: Strykekvartett nr. 3 (1998)
Quatuor van Kuijk

Beethoven: Pianotrio nr. 3 i C-dur, op. 1, nr. 3
Alina Ibragimova (fiolin), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)


Mozart: Pianosonate nr. 14 i C-dur, K. 457
Víkingur Ólafsson (piano)

Beethoven: Pianosonate nr. 8 i C-dur, op. 13 "Pathétique"
Víkingur Ólafsson (piano)

Samtale med Leif Ove Andsnes, Jan Swafford og festivalmusikere (på engelsk)

Beethoven: Sonate for piano og cello nr. 2 i G-moll, op. 5, nr. 2
Christian Poltéra (cello), Enrico Pace (piano)

Beethoven: Folkesanger
Dorothea Röschmann (sopran), Antje Weithaas (fiolin), Tanja Tetzlaff (cello), Víkingur Ólafsson (piano)


Marius Neset: Who We Are (2020) bestillingsverk
Ingrid Søfteland Neset (fløyte), Marius Neset (saksofon), Christian Poltéra (cello), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Beethoven: Pianotrio i Ess-dur, op. 70, nr. 2
Alina Ibragimova (fiolin), Christian Poltéra (cello), Enrico Pace (piano)