Rosendal Kammermusikkfestival 2024

Roland Pöntinen


Since his debut with the Royal Stockolm Philharmonic in 1981, Roland Pöntinen has performed with major orchestras throughout the world. He has been invited to many prestigious festivals including Schleswig-Holstein, Verbier and Mostly Mozart Festival, N.Y. and worked with conductors like Esa-Pekka Salonen, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Evgeny Svetlanov and Leif Segerstam to name a few. Highlights include performances with the Philharmonia Orchestra in Paris and London, Los Angeles Philharmonic in the Hollywood Bowl, with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in Glasgow and Edinburgh as well as appearances at the London Proms where he has played both the Grieg Piano Concerto and the Ligeti Piano Concerto.

Pöntinen has given recitals in New York (The Frick Collection), London (Wigmore Hall), Bogotá, Istanbul, Stockholm and the Verbier Festival. Often immersed in large scale projects he has recently performed the complete cycles of Beethoven Sonatas and Années de Pèlerinage by Liszt.

.button{border:none color: white; padding: 16px 40px; text-align: center; text-decoration: none; display: inline-block; font-size: 16px; margin: 4px 2px; transition-duration: 0.4s; cursor: pointer}.button1{background-color: black; color: white; border: 2px solid black}.button1:hover{background-color: green; color: white

Roland Pöntinen is also active as a composer and his Blue Winter was performed by the Philadelphia Orchestra under Wolfgang Sawallisch at Carnegie Hall in 1998.

His latest work, L’heure bleue for trombone and piano, dedicated to Christian Lindberg, was premiered in 2021. He has also arranged music by Legrand, Joni Mitchell and Weill for Håkan Hardenberger and Academy of St Martin in the Fields.

Pöntinen is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Music and in 2002 he received the Litteris et Artibus-a royal medal for recognition of eminent skills in the artistic field.

Les meir

Festival forestillinger i 2024

19.00-21.00 1. Åpningskonsert

Åse Kleveland

Johannes Brahms: Fiolinsonate nr. 1 i G-dur, op. 78
James Ehnes (fiolin), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)

György Ligeti: Det makabres mysterier
Håkan Hardenberger (trompet), Roland Pöntinen (piano)


Johannes Brahms: Pianokvintett i f-moll, op. 34
Dover Quartet (strykekvartett), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

Johannes Brahms: Cellosonate nr. 1 i e-moll, op. 38
Julia Hagen (cello), Roland Pöntinen (piano)

Johannes Brahms: Pianotrio nr. 2 i C-dur, op. 87
James Ehnes (fiolin), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)

Toru Takemitsu: Stier
Håkan Hardenberger (trompet)

Johannes Brahms arr. Eusebius Mandyezewski: "Herzlich tut mich verlangen" fra 11 koralpreludier for orgel, op. 122
Yeol-Eum Son (piano), Roland Pöntinen (piano)

Paul Hindemith: Sonate for Trompet og Piano (1939)
Håkan Hardenberger (trompet), Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)


Johannes Brahms: Strykesekstett nr. 1 i B-dur, op. 18
Dover Quartet, (strykekvartett), Tabea Zimmermann (bratsj), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello)

Johannes Brahms: Scherzo, WoO. 2, fra "F-A-E" Sonate for Fiolin og Piano
Svetlin Roussev (fiolin), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)

Johannes Brahms: Strykekvartett i a-moll, op. 51 nr. 2
Dover Quartet (strykekvartett)

György Ligeti: Trio for Fiolin, Horn og Piano (1982)
David Guerrier (horn) , Guro Kleven Hagen (fiolin), Bertrand Chamayou (piano)

György Ligeti: Artikulation (1958)
Elektronisk stykke - bilder på skjermen av kunstneren Rainer Wehinger

György Ligeti: Etude No. 2 Cordes à vide
Franz Liszt: Bagatelle sans tonalité (1885)
György Ligeti: Etude No. 4 Fanfarer
Franz Liszt: Nuages gris (1881)
György Ligeti: Etude No. 5 Arc-en-ciel
György Ligeti: Etude No. 6 Automne à Varsovie

Clara Schumann: Pianotrio i g-moll, op. 17
Guro Kleven Hagen (fiolin), Julia Hagen (cello), Yeol-Eum Son (piano)


Johannes Brahms: Pianokvartett nr. 3 i c-moll, op. 60
Bertrand Chamayou (piano), Guro Kleven Hagen (fiolin), Tabea Zimmermann (bratsj), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello)