Rosendal Chamber Music Festival 2022

Karol Ciesluk


Karol Ciesluk is a double bass player currently working in the Norwegian National Opera Orchestra and a member of Oslo Fat String Quartet. He studied performance at Barratt Due institute of music in Oslo under Dan Styffe, Matthew McDonald and Henning Kraggerud.

Karol is a much sought after chamber musician and soloist, performing in music festivals such as Bergen International Festival, Valdres Sommersymfoni Festival, Fagerborg Festival in Oslo, Norsjø Chamber Music Festival in Telemark and Musica Mundi in Belgium. He has also appeared as a soloist with Oslo Camerata, Rivne Philharmonic Orchestra, Concerto Avenna Chamber Orchestra, and the Barratt Due Orchestra.

Karol is a prize winner of many national and international solo competitions such as the International BASS2012 Competition in Copenhagen, the International BASS2010 Youth Competition in Berlin and the International Bass Competition “Wratislavia” in Wroclaw.

Read More

Festival Performances Year 2022

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 18 No. 3 (1798 - 1800)
Quatuor Ébène

Beethoven: Septet in E-flat major, Op. 20 (1799 - 1800)
Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Henninge Landaas (viola), Jakob Koranyi (cello), Karol Ciesluk (double bass), Björn Nyman (clarinet), Per Hannisdal (bassoon), Ragnhild Lothe (horn)

J. S. Bach arr. for mandolin by Avi Avital: Chaconne from Partita No 2. BWV 1004 (1717 - 1720)
Avi Avital (mandolin)

Beethoven: Bagatelle in E-flat major, Op. 126, Nos. 1, 5 & 6 (1823-1824)
Víkingur Ólafsson (piano)

Rolf Wallin: Realismos Magicos (2014)
Colin Currie (percussion)

Vivaldi arr. Avital: Concerto for lute in D major, RV. 93 (1730 - 1731)
Avi Avital (mandolin), Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), N.N. (violin), Henninge Landaas (viola), Jakob Koranyi (cello), Karol Ciesluk (double bass), Kristian Bezuidenhout (harpsichord)

Lene Grenager: Extract from Mixed Handedness for solo cello (2017)
Lene Grenager (cello)

Beethoven: Folksongs
Christiane Karg (soprano), Guro Kleven Hagen (violin), Jakob Koranyi (cello), Jonathan Biss (piano)